The Leadership of First Presbyterian Church

Presbyterian congregations are governed by Ruling (lay persons) and Teaching (clergy) Elders who together are called a “session.” The FPC Session typically meets on the last Monday of the month, and on appropriate Sundays following worship to receive new members.

All Session Meetings are public, unless operating in “executive session.”  For specific meeting dates and times, please see the FPC calendar.

The ministry of the Diaconate (composed of Deacons) is one of compassion, witness and service, sharing in the redeeming love of Jesus Christ for the poor, the hungry, the sick, the lost, the friendless, the oppressed, those burdened by unjust policies or structures or anyone in distress. (Book of Order G-2.02)

FPCK Leadership Session


Will you serve the people with energy, intelligence, imagination, and love?

Ruling Elders serving as the Class of 2026 are:

  • Gary Crozier
  • Jeff Cunningham
  • Melanie Houdeshell
  • Pam Jucknies
  • Jeanette Vaughan
  • Tom Richardson

Ruling Elders serving as the Class of 2025 are:

  • Steve Clyburn
  • Pam Cooper
  • Jane Pickett
  • Cheryl Sieker
  • Mary Ellen Summerlin
  • Ed Wallace

Ruling Elders serving as the Class of 2024 are:

  • Clarice Amann
  • Sam Begeman
  • B.K. Gamble
  • William Jackson
  • Hilary Mosty
  • Jane Ragsdale
  • Tommy Tait

Trustees are as follows:

  • 2024, Mark Cowden
  • 2025, LeRoy Schlechte
  • 2026, Bill Matthews

Moderator: Rev. Jasiel Hernandez Garcia

Clerk of Session, Sue Endsley

Assistant Clerk of Session, Darlene Bannister

Treasurer of Session, Warren Schlechte

For the list of Ministry Areas and Session Committees and the volunteers serving on the committees, click HERE.

The governance of the church follows the Presbyterian Church (USA) Book of Order.  The Standards of Procedures (SOP) by which FPC operates are available in this Standards of Procedure.



“Persons of spiritual character, honest repute, exemplary lives, brotherly and sisterly love, sincere compassion, and sound judgement…”

Deacons serving in the class of 2026:

  • Verna Benham
  • Donna Jewell
  • Don Priour
  • Donna Tait
  • Bryce Umfress
  • Todd Vaughan
  • John Wehmeyer

Deacons serving in the class of 2025:

  • Sam Baublit
  • Alice Lerp
  • Tricia Matthews
  • Sally Peterson
  • Nancy Wilson


Deacons serving in the class of 2024:

  • Betty Clyburn
  • Linda Grams
  • Rita Odom
  • Linda Phillips
  • Cheryl Smith
  • Nancy Wallace


Deacon Moderator: Linda Phillips

Co-Moderator: Alice Lerp